Welcome to the Brent Sickle Cell & Thalassaemia Centre website.

This website is a service provided by the Brent Sickle Cell & Thalassaemia Centre, a service of the London North West Healthcare NHS Trust, London, UK, for the general public, people with or at-risk of Sickle Cell, Thalassaemia, G6PD and other related conditions of haemoglobin, patients, health and allied care professionals, educators, students and those interested in the specialist subject.

The North West London Haemoglobinopathy Managed Clinical Network new website...

The North West London Haemoglobinopathy Managed Clinical Network is now hosted on the Brent Sickle Cell & Thalassaemia Centre website.

Watch our new 'My Sickle Cell Disease and Me' video...


A film about a day in the life of children with Sickle Cell Disease, telling their story in their own words to help and educate them and other children. With animated presenters Sam and Sophie Sickle, it features useful advice, plus an exclusive interview with JLS.

Just released, the 3rd edition of “A parent’s guide to managing sickle cell disease”...

If you are told your child has sickle cell disease you will probably have lots of questions. This book, “A parent’s guide to managing sickle cell disease”, will describe what sickle cell disease is, the different types, treatments available and offer practical advice on living with and supporting a child with sickle cell disease.

The stars of 'My Sickle Cell Disease and Me' visit the House of Lords...

The stars of 'My Sickle Cell Disease and Me' were invited to join Baroness Floella Benjamin for tea at the House of Lords...

You will find:

  • Current information about the Centre.

  • Information about community services available for people who live in Brent and Harrow and acute care of patients who attend:
    • Central Middlesex Hospital
    • Northwick Park Hospital

  • Resources to assist with the clinical management of people with sickle cell, thalassaemia, G6PD and related conditions.

Honorary Director: Prof. Dame Sally C Davies
Medical Director: Dr. Gavin Cho
Email: Gavin.Cho@nhs.net
Professional Services Director / Senior
Specialist Nurse Consultant / Lecturer:
Dr. Lola Oni OBE
Email: Lola.Oni@nhs.net
Paediatric Consultant: Dr. Michele Afif
Email: MicheleAfif@nhs.net
Senior Specialist Nurse
(Paediatric Acute Community):
Jacqui Bowyer
Email: Jacqui.Bowyer@nhs.net
Senior Specialist Nurse
(Acute Hospital):
Florence Esara
Email: Florence.Esara@nhs.net
Specialist Community Nurse: Position vacant
Email:
Specialist Midwife: Paula Sullivan
Email: Paula.Sullivan1@nhs.net
Psychologist: Dr. Kofi A Anie
Email: Kofi.Anie@nhs.net
Lead Nurse Researcher /
IT Project Manager:
Dr. Annette Gilmore
Email: Annette.Gilmore@nhs.net
Nurse Researcher: Patricia Kiilu
Email: Patricia.Kiilu@nhs.net
IT Consultant: Sameer J Patankar
Email: Sameer.Patankar@nhs.net
Administrative Staff: Linda Joseph (Administrator / Receptionist)
Email: Linda.Joseph1@nhs.net

Gira Patel (Secretary)
Email: Gira.Patel1@nhs.net